New Weather Entries

I’m too lazy to start a new blog, but I’m going to start blogging the California weather, and it’ll be such a major component, it should be its own blog. Like “Dave on Weather.” Oh, boy, the more I think about it… but I’m afraid I’ll get all excited only to find out it’s a “premium” feature to start a second blog on here.

So, here I am, starting a new series of blog posts about California weather, more than halfway through the wet part of the California Water Year 2016, which started October 1st, 2015 and Ends September 30, 2016.

This project of following the 2016 Water Year started out sparse and grew into a major project involving spreadsheets and photography. Now, I must warn that I follow the weather, I don’t predict it. I remark what things are thought to be coming up in the weather, then what actually unfolds.

So, as you might know, this is an El Niño year, significant in California for how it makes California weather wetter, and especially significant this year, because California has not seen an El Niño fully develop in four years, and probably not so coincidentally, has had four straight rainy seasons fall short of the 30-year average precipitation.

The 2015-16 El Niño out there in the Pacific is of considerable size. An El Niño is the warmer-than-normal phase of the equatorial Pacific sea surface temperature cycle.  It is just now peaking and should soon start to cool off. Even though it goes away, the effect on the atmosphere and weather pattern lingers for quite some time after. In otherwords, it’s a weather cycle that triggers secondary weather cycles.

As I create this first entry, we join Water Year 2016 already in progress, as what I’ve counted to be the 38th storm of the Water Year affects in California this weekend.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

