Easily Reached Sweets

There’s always a problem with easy-in-reach sweets! RESOLVED. I will only enjoy sugar-based sweets if I make them myself or have to go to a place outside my own home in order to obtain them — in the form of a serving, not a package. And as long as Twinkies remain missing from store shelves I’ll be able to adhere to that! I don’t have a big fast food restaurant and drive-thru habit, but if I did I would have to also banish myself from those as well. Here’s what happened.
Recently I came home with a Costco sized box of “Skinny Cow” ice cream sandwiches and boy oh boy was that ever a mistake. I could not stop devouring those creamy, dreamy sandwiches, each made with “reduced fat ice cream” sandwiched by two chocolate cookies. My Skinny Cow purchase helped me gain 3 lbs. in a week. And the reason why is revealed in this interview about this book “Salt Sugar Fat” by New York Times writer Michael Moss:
http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/tue-march-26-2013/michael-moss?xrs=share_copy Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 10.39.00 AM
I might be willing to try an artificially sweetened version of “Skinny Cow” if they ever offer that.
A note: sugar and fat free frozen yogurts are available at those “pour it yourself” fro-yo shops, and they make a superb dieting dessert. Even an “extra large” serving won’t dent a pursuit of weight loss. Those fro-yos are expensive, but not as expensive as weight gain. Notice that they are not a packaged treat. You have to go out to a fro-yo place to find one. Having to go through that little bit of extra trouble instead of simply raiding the freezer gives you the pleasure of reward, and it requires more thought. “Do I really want to face traffic and waste gas just for a fro-yo?” Decisions, decisions.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

