The Day I Realized I Didn’t Have To Pick A Race On Forms

It’s Census time! Time to stand up and be counted! What’s your name? What’s your employment status? How much do you make? How old are you? What’s your race?
I answer “mixed race” now after some Indian dork way back in college pointed out I wasn’t a “real Indian.” That was the last time I ever identified myself as a “South Asian/Pacific Islander.” I grew up with the notion that any deviation from white meant you belonged to the deviation, but that person’s disagreement that I was an Indian solved a conundrum. I am absolved of having to pick a race!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

